Catholic Archdiocese of Bamenda

Go to content

Main menu

       The Truth will Set you Free

     The Bull of Pope Paul VI, Tametsi Christianarum of 13 August 1970  erected the Diocese of Bamenda with teritory detached from the then Diocese of Buea which covered what is today the Bamenda Ecclesiastical Province. Fr Paul Verdzekov, a diocesan priest from the Nso' tribe, was appointed as its pioneer bishop.Then on the 18 March 1982 Pope John Paul II created the Bamenda Ecclesiatical Province by the Bull Eo Magis Ecclesia Catholica, making Bamenda the Metropolitan See of the same Province. Bishop Paul Verdzekov was equally raised to the rank of Archbishop.  By the same Bull, the Pope erected the Diocese of Kumbo with territory detached from the Archdiocese of Bamenda with Fr Cornelius Fontem Esua, priest of the diocese of Buea from Mbetta,  as pioneer bishop. Kumbo,  along with the Diocese of Buea, became Suffragrans of the Metropolitan See of Bamenda. On 9 February 1999, Pope John Paul II erected the Diocese of Mamfe, with territory detached from the Diocese of Buea with Fr. Francis Teke Lysinge, a diocesan priest from the Bakweri tribe, as pioneer bishop. Mamfe was also  assigned as suffragran of the Metropolitan See of Bamenda. So the present Archdiocese of Bamenda is the Metropolitan See of the Bamenda Ecclesiastical Province, with 3 Suffragan Sees - Buea, Kumbo and Mamfe.
    The Archdiocese of Bamenda lies between the 5th and 7th latitudes North, and between the 9th and 11th degrees East longitude. It covers an area of 10.000 square kilometres and the  Seat of the Archdiocese is in the city of Bamenda, the  Civil Administrative Headquarters of the N.W. Region of Cameroon. Historically, the archdiocese is inhabited by a number of state-like Fondoms, most of them established by waves of invasions and settlement. Presently, the archdiocese comprises of the  Civil Administrative Divisions of
Mezam (inhabited mostly by Bali-Chamba, the Bafut and Ngemba); Momo (peopled by the Widikum,Moghamo,Menemo, Ngie, Ngwo and Menka); Menchum ( inhabited by the Aghem, Mmen, Fungom,Esu, Esimbi and Beba-Befang people); Boyo (peopled by the  Kom and Bum ); and Ngoketunjia (inhabited by a number of chiefdoms -Bamunka, Babungo, Bangolan, Baba, Babessi, Bafanji, Nsei, Balikumbat and Bambalang).
    The overwhelming majority of the people of the Archdiocese of Bamenda are self-employed peasant farmers. Industrial activity is virtually nonexistent but the population is very dynamic and a lot of commerce goes on especially in the major towns of the various Divisions. This area has some of the best educational institutions in the Republic of Cameroon at all levels; but it is also the political hot pot of Cameroon opposition. Of the nearly
2million inhabitants of this area, about 30%  are Catholics; about 25% would be Christians of varied denominations, 15% adherents of Islam; 25% adherents of African Traditional Religion and the rest pockets of different Western and Eastern religions about 5%. The Archdiocese of Bamenda is pastorally divided into 6 Deaneries - NJINIKOM, MANKON, WIDIKUM, WUM, BAMBUI, & NDOP each named after the oldest Parish of the Deanery.  The Archdiocese will launch the celebration of the Centenary Year of its Evangelization by the  German Sacred Heart Fathers at FUJUA KOM on Saturday 29 June 2013.

Back to content | Back to main menu